The rain, Maa Durga and a little madness

It’s raining heavily for the last 2 and a half days. But yesterday morning the situation was a bit different. Around 7 a.m. the sky was somewhat clear and once again the sun was out. The sunshine had the feel of Durga Puja written all over it. I know this sunshine since childhood and I think every Bengali do the same. Anyways seeing the clear sky, a plan came to my mind. I decided to go to Kumartuli (it’s the seat of the clay artists in Calcutta) to take some snaps. I phoned Pravat to tell him about the plan. Luckily he was awake (Pravater pravat khub derite hoi kina!) and he at once agreed.

But the heavens had a different plan. I was on my way to Kavi Nazrul metro station when the skies opened up again. I decided to move ahead with the plan. We got down at the Shovabazar metro station and on surfacing we found heavy shower has already started. Pravat has already started cursing me for the plan but somehow I managed to calm him down. After that we started walking towards Kumartuli and around 11 a.m. we reached Kumartuli. By that time the downpour has increased greatly so we had to take shelter under a shed. I found it ideal to have a cigarette but as I was about to take the first puff Pravat told me to have a look at a particular board where it was written,

PHOTOGRAPHY STRICTLY PROHIBITED.

So we contacted the Clay Artists’ Samity and bought a season pass so that we can have the permission for the rest of the season. But as I said earlier luck was on the other side. The clay artists have already started covering the idols to protect them from the rain. Somehow we managed to take some snaps.

DSC04431

DSC04420

I told Pravat that there is a ghat nearby. It is called Kumartuli Ghat (I have Googled the area in the morning). He was very eager to go there. So taking help from the locales we went there. The riverside view was really beautiful. Frankly speaking on seeing the raindrops falling in the river my heart suddenly became more enthusiastic. I could see the joy in Pravat’s eyes. I took some pictures of him.

DSC04416

He’s really mad!!!

He was really happy and enjoying getting drenched in the rain. There we took few more pictures. By the time we finished taking pictures at the riverside I was completely drenched. I told Pravat why not return to Kumartuli again to take some pictures. Then we had a plan. We decided to take some pictures at Kumartuli and to return to Kumartuli Ghat again. From there we decided to go to Babughat from where we can return home.

DSC04434So we returned to Kumartuli where I found this idol. Though it’s in its formative stage yet its beauty really attracted my eyes. The artisans are really magicians. But it’s really sad they don’t receive the accolades they deserve.

Anyways we weren’t been able to take any more idol pictures. So we decided to come back after the sky changes its plan within few days. May be on the Mahalaya .

As per our plan we returned to Kumartuli Ghat and from Baghbajar Ghat we boarded a launch (marine vessel). I haven’t rode a launch on a rainy day like this. So I was excited to enjoy the river from the launch. But unfortunately my excitement decreased a bit immediately. I took out my specs from the pocket and as I was about to wipe its glasses I found it broken. Really a shock!!

Whatever… our journey across the Ganges began. Pravat was taking pictures. In the meantime he has taken a snap of mine and suddenly uttered,

Arre yaar tera chashma toota hai Dil nahi… so cheer up

I smiled and began taking pictures again. Each one of us gave different poses to the other to capture. Really we were enjoying very much.  Then we had Masala Badam and Cha.

Pravat said to me, “It seems the childhood has returned…”

Really the day was a reminiscent of the school days as a child when we used to enjoy Rainy days like this.

At last we reached Babughat. From there we had to take buses for our respective homes. But I was not ready to return home soon. So I called HER to enjoy the rest of the afternoon. Pravat returned home and I went for Puja shopping with HER. Hearing everything she said,

“ You people are such mad…!!!” 🙂

But returning home my mother’s first reaction was… “ABAR?” (“aaaagain?”)

 

You might also like :

8 thoughts on “The rain, Maa Durga and a little madness

  1. after going through your blog,the only thing that came in my mind is,”ishh ami jodi jete partam…”.
    trust me,ami ae prothom tor lekhata pore amar kolkata-k vishon miss korchi.r miss korbo aebare durga pujota…
    Hope your pujo days go absolutely rocking…

Leave a Reply

